DWI and Driver’s License Suspension
One of the biggest issues in DWI cases revolves around your driver’s license. If you are arrested for DWI or DUI, your driver’s license may be suspended, at least temporarily, before you even go to court on your case. If you are convicted of DWI or DUI, your license could be suspended for a more significant amount of time.
When you are arrested for DWI, the Department of Public Safety (DPS) will attempt to suspend your driver’s license. It is important to hire an attorney quickly in a DWI case because you only have 15 days from the date of your arrest to request a hearing on the suspension of your Texas driver’s license. If this hearing is not requested in a timely manner your driver’s license (or privilege to drive in Texas on a driver’s license issued by another State), will automatically be suspended by DPS 40 days after the date of your arrest. Requesting this hearing delays the suspension of your driver’s license until the date of the hearing, allowing more time to obtain discovery (police report, video tape, etc.) and an Occupational Driver’s License, which allows you to drive to and from work, school, and for ‘essential household duties.’
In addition to the initial suspension of your license, if you are convicted of DWI, your license could be suspended for a longer period of time. In Texas, your driver’s license could be suspended for up to two years if you are convicted of some criminal offenses including DWI.
Additionally, if convicted of DWI, you will be required to pay surcharges to DPS for three years in order to keep your Texas driver’s license. These surcharges can be up to $2,000 per year. The requirement of surcharges is another reason why it is important to hire an attorney to represent you in your DWI.
Call The Law Office of Gregory R. Terra at (512) 635-4368 for an experienced, local, and highly rated attorney to assist you in your criminal case.