Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol in Williamson County
Contrary to popular misconception, you cannot be charged with DUI in Williamson County Texas unless you are under 21 at the time of the offense. Because someone under 21 cannot legally drink or purchase alcohol, they cannot legally operate a motor vehicle in a public place with “any detectable amount of alcohol” in their body, meaning just one drink. Minors can (and likely will) be charged with DWI if they are believed to be “intoxicated.” Otherwise, any odor of alcohol on their breath or admission to drinking any alcoholic beverages will lead to their arrest for DUI. Many of the same driver’s license issues facing those charged with DWI are applicable in DUI cases, so it is equally important to hire an attorney within 15 days of the date of the arrest.
A 1st offense DUI is punishable by a fine not to exceed $500. However, simply paying the fine and accepting a conviction, the easy thing to do in the short-term, can have long-term consequences. The charge generally sounds much worse than it really was to potential employers, college admission boards, etc. due to the fact that in many other states the only charge available is DUI, so a conviction for DUI is assumed to be the same thing as a DWI in Texas, meaning “intoxicated.”
Call The Law Office of Gregory R. Terra at (512) 635-4368 for an experienced, local, and highly rated attorney to assist you in your criminal case.